Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The Pennine Tower

On our journey home on the M6, I was thinking about Forton Services (Now Lancaster). Would it be like the tree at sycamore gap? An iconic feature that one day might be gone without me having taken a photo of it.

I was taken to these services when they first opened in 1965 so when we stopped there on a school trip in 1967 I felt very knowledgeable about where things were. But, who knew there was a roof terrace on the top?

The restaurant soon struggled to make a profit, even after it was converted to a truckers lounge it became impractical and was closed completely to the public in 1989.

It's very unlikely to reopen as it contains blue asbestos.

I'm sure we won't find it has suddenly been demolished as it became a listed building in 2012 but I'm getting my blip done, just in case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.