A day in the life

By Shelling

Sticks

Early to rise this morning, half past seven, in order to make it to the dentist in time. I still go to a dentist in Kalmar, even though I'm sure there are some closer but I like to see the same one and they know me in there. Besides, there are always other reasons for going to Kalmar to visit shops we don't have on the island.

We've had totally still weather today, as a change from the last week of  wind. When I went into town pass the bridge I could just barely see the water because of the thick fog. I like the effect of stillness and quiet that the fog creates, even the people are a little subdued.

After lunch I thought I'd finish the woodchopping but it takes longer than it looks, probably there's another couple of hours left to do. In the dusk, when I stopped, the temperature and the stillness was so nice I didn't want to return into the house so I took a short, slow walk to take it all in. On the road I noticed the road administration had already put the sticks out, used to mark the edge of the road as a help for those who clear the roads from snow. It's early, I thought but maybe they know things I don't. 

I returned when it was almost dark but decided to sit outside yet a while before going in to shower and have a cup of tea and something little to eat. I felt like on some summer evenings, when I don't want to break the magic of the moment. Nice to know it can happen even in November.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.