Marionb

By Marionb

The Dark and Dreary Days..

..of November always send me to books..A bit of yard work if the sun breaks through for a few moments..but otherwise, I tend to bury myself in a good novel for a substantial part of the day.. 

This book came highly recommended to me by my friend Mary and how could it not grab my attention when page one started with.....

"Put me out with the trash", he said regularly ."When I die, put me out with the trash. I'll be dead so I won't know any different. You'll be crying your eyes out," and he would laugh and I'd laugh too, because we both knew that I wouldn't be crying my eyes out. I never cry. 


When the time came on Wednesday 29, November 2017, I followed his instructions. He was small and frail and eighty-two years old by then, so it was easy to get him into one large garden garbage bag. 


 Ok Ok..a bit dark, but it worked for me...proving once again the importance of those first few sentences at pulling in the reader!

It's a good thing I have a whole bunch of promising-looking books stacked next to the sofa, as it looks as if I will get through this one quickly! 

PS: back-blipped of course...I truly did go down the rabbit hole of addictive novels...and emerged only to host my sister's visit four days later on November 6!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.