Capital adventures

By marchmont

The Gathering - of blippers?

I was on a bus just after 7, off to the EICC to SCVO's The Gathering, early to the hear the First Minister.  It was almost a blipmeet as there were 2 other blippers in the audience: 2nd Sat Strollers and Louise - Changing Natures. Later I bumped into Four Story.  

The First Minister, as they always do, gave us warm words.  You're doing a great job, we couldn't do without you, I, my family, friends have worked/volunteered in the 3rd sector, we know that funding is an issue, we want to reform the funding situation, thank you for all you do.  Well, fingers crossed this time we may get some change.

I went to two interesting sessions on Marketing and Comms and Governance and caught up with partner and colleagues from AAB, ACOSVO and of course Apex. Had a brief catch up with H about a few issues.

Then it was time to head off to have lunch before drama.  The Shakespeare was not serving food so I went back over the road to All Bar One.  Not as good but managed to deal with a few calls including a worried carer who'd found the Manor empty.  A comms issue, Mum was out for the afternoon and no-one had told the carer. One simple error had led to umpteen calls and Whatsapp messages to allay the concerns of all who'd been involved.  I also had a call with Octopus but got nowhere. I need to call back on Monday.

Drama was very sedentary, a lot of listening to our actor talking about 'School for Wives'.  It was 3.30 before we got up to do some staging.  The room was cold, and noisy.

Home for a break and later it will be off to Choir.  An email that came in this afternoon, means it's probable another task has been added to my 'to do' list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.