curns' corner

By curns

Bath

We have been in this house for ten years. Before we moved in, the house was refurbished by a man who had, we learned at some point, experience with hotels. The bathroom in this house is the room that most looks like it might have been done for some hotel. We had a plumber who once who said that the toilet wasn’t a standard domestic toilet and spares would me more-or-less impossible to find - but I have never found anything to back that statement up.  Nonetheless, one of the features is that it has a bath with very high sides. I am not sure you a tell from the picture. 

The bath feels narrow and uncomfortable, it’s large and I feel I am literally letting money flow down the drain when I fill it with water.  I am convinced one day the whole thing will fall through the floor into the room below.  I used to like a bath but in the years of living here I have had very few and I gave up after about a year because this just doesn’t work as bath. We have a lovely shower and that works fine.  So, quite why tonight, after years of avoiding this bath, I thought I’d give it a go.

And then I remembered why this unit doesn’t work. It’s hard to get in - and then out of - because of the high sides. I realised the plug allows water to drain very slowly so hot was was constantly flowing out and the raised sides make it feel narrow and constraining. I tried for about 20 minutes before I realised I could not make this work.  So I gave up again and probably won’t try again for another five years or until we have a new bath installed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.