Capital adventures

By marchmont

TGIF

It's not that the week's are looking it's just that they zip by. Here we are, Friday again and I slept in, only till 7, but too late for me especially as I had my 3 monthly energy giver before 9. The sun on the last of the leaves on a chestnut tree reminded me of three Singing, ringing tree.

I was supposed to be off but wasn't. The days are reducing but the to do list isn't. I did a power of work on invites to an open afternoon, updating financial procedures (why did I not do this months ago?) and sending info on to the accountant. And in between another solar panel visit.  No word from my plumber though.

Then off out for the evening event. It was cold, very cold and the #37 was standing room only, at 4.15, full of Dick Vet students. I off to the new Rosa's Thai. I've eaten in the Spitalfields branch, aeons ago. It was ok. The worst bit was the awful music playing above me. I think it's planned to make you move on which the staff clearly wanted me to do as I was twice told there need my table back. I'd booked and this was after less than 2 hours and the mango sticky rice was mingin', nothing like Laos, Thailand. 

However having to leave slightly early than planned had benefits. The hall at Stewart's Melville was already nearly full before 7 but I got an OK seat. James O'Brien was interesting and entertaining and did a good job of selling his book. I bought it.

The journey home had more jeopardy. First, the school had locked the front gates on to Queensferry Road, over an hour early I was told, so we had to trek out the vehicle exit. But luckily with a small jog I caught a 37 no problem. The problem started in Minto St where we sat for ages. The Lady Rd junction was closed so eventually it was a 3 point turn, back north and then south via Old Dalkeith Rd. Transpired it was a terrible car crash with many emergency vehicles in attendance.

Home I watched HIGNFY with Willow on my knees. She hops up as soon as the footstool comes out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.