Capital adventures

By marchmont

Caturday

Lay in bed listening to R4 and once up did a whole lot of life admin including, laundry, soup making, bill paying and eventually a long time doing the business accounts. Note to self, must do them more regularly. 

As the dusk drew in it was up to Tesco for a few essentials, to use my Clubcard vouchers and then Margiotta for the things Tesco lacked. I also did quite a bit of Choir admin too, ready for the concert on 29th.

Watched the News and the right wing trouble in London, then Strictly, followed by another ep of The Newsreader. There's a French film on soon. 

An aside on the 'beatification' of Armistice/Remembrance/poppies. My family served: my grandfather MM, his b in l killed, his 3 brothers, my dad, his sister, his b in l, my mother, my son so I remember. But when did it become so 'sacred'? Is it as it gets further away? I'm old enough to remember the 60's and 70's and maybe later when the only 2 minute silence was on Remembrance Sunday, not 11th, unless the date coincided. I remember being surprised on 11.11.70 when the office in Melbourne stopped to be silent. I'd never done that before.
 
I was fairly silent today at 11. So was Willow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.