pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Funky Town

Been feeling a little funky and low of late. 

Just prior to a recent break to Wales with the wee ones, my mental health was in a particularly poor state, but I thought that the break had served its purpose and given me the space to recover from feeling so burned out.

This week it feels like it has returned again with challenges at work playing on my mind, and concerns around the wellbeing of the wee ones who are facing their own challenges with some changes in their lives - it’s a very rare occasion where The Youngest crawls into my bed for a cuddle in the early hours having had a nightmare.

If the truth be told, I don’t think I am looking after myself very well, I’m still not eating as well as I should and the running is non-existent, although I do enjoy a nice walk as often as possible.

As someone with only a small but select band of really good friends in real life, I’ve missed this place too, because - whilst the fear remains that I may give too much of myself away - I think it provides a pressure relief valve for my restless mind and there’s a comfort in the kind words and comments that others; with far more life experience than I, leave. 

I do enjoy reading the stories of others too and have often referenced some of your own challenges in conversation and how you have dealt with them.

Maybe it’s time to put a tentative toe back in the blip water and if nothing else, my continued ramblings can serve as a cautionary tale to others as to how NOT to do things?!

Oh, and as for the photo? It’s that time of year when the geese of the world start to get nervous as they know that their down will shortly be harvested to stuff and puff the jackets of the attendees of the Kendal Mountain Festival.

Anyway….how are you? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.