a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Goosed

With a dry cold day relatively still day forecast it seemed  a good idea to get down to the Somerset Levels for some wildlife photography.  When I arrived the early morning mist was still blanketing the area, but within an hour or so it had started to burn off.  

I'd hoped for some more bearded tits, but the high water levels seemed to have flooded many of the grit trays and I didn't see an sign of them, and more tellingly nor did I hear them pinging to each other in the reed beds.

Many of the paths that I usually use were flooded in part, and some careful wading was required.  I don't think I was ever really in danger of water coming over the top of the wellies, but with such an uneven surface below the water I was never sure as I put my next foot forward just how far down it might sink, so my progress was pretty slow and steady.

The geese are now arriving in large numbers and there's a fair bit of honking going on as a result.  I did see a kingfisher (flying fast across and away from me - I didn't get a shot) and a bittern (also heading in the opposite direction but included as an extra as a record shot).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.