On Some Days

By V1k1

Looking Out My Back Door . . .

. . . John Fogerty

The hill that I live under is always attractive depending on the light and the stages of growth on the trees.  This Cabbage Tree is full of flower spikes.  I think it is a flowering gum behind it but what the green foliage at the top is I don't know.   Both of us attacked the weeds this morning and that part of the garden is looking much better.  This afternoon I braved the cinema and saw Killers of The Flower Moon, all three and a half hours of it.  I'm glad I went but It isn't a 10 out of 10 watch. 
P.S This evening the forester was doing the dishes and looking out the kitchen window onto the hill and saw four Kereru in the trees.  I don't know what tree that is with the white flowers but it is attractive to Kereru/Native Pigeons.  What a a thrill to see from a house in the suburbs.  The extra isn't good as a photo but a record of what we saw. 
PPS The forester went for a walk up there and brought back a sample of foliage and flower. He has looked it up and the tree is Black Locust, Robinia   pseudoacacia.  A tree from America used in parks and for timber. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.