Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A cut above the average

A wet and windy night, and although the wind has dropped it's dull, wet and cold today. 

I finished off my London talk this morning having managed to pare it down to 221 images, including maps and titles. All ready to go a week on Wednesday!

My next job is to complete a list of all the engraved labels required for the trees and shrubs at Dunollie, here in Oban. This includes all the new plantings and several of the originals. Unfortunately there are many rhododendrons, azaleas, camellias and other shrubs in the garden without any identification - mostly hybrids which it will be extremely difficult to identify. Why didn't earlier gardeners keep records? 

Haven't been off the property today - it's still drizzling now at half-three and it will be dark early, I imagine. My Blip today is a real EB, some of the coloured foliage of a cut-leaved Japanese maple, Acer palmatum 'Seiryu'. Still in  a pot as I haven't yet decided where it should go.

Time to put the kettle on, I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.