Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Christmas versus Thanksgiving

Another miserable day, dark and dank! My morning for the 'Strength & Balance' class and fortunately the rain eased off and I was able to walk down in the dry. A lot of folk there today - maybe the weather drives them in! I really can't say I enjoy it, but I'm determined to stick with it and see how things work out.

I took my small camera in my pocket just in case, and ended up with an extra today of a number of deer antlers to which someone had attached tea lights. A good use of shed antlers, but a difficult thing to place and rather expensive with it!

Another emergency Blip today - the old faithful pale pink Christmas cactus, as I've always called it. I always wondered why it flowers far too early for Christmas, but having checked up again just now I find that it's not Schlumbergera buckleyi, as I've always thought, but Schlumbergera truncata, the so-called Thanksgiving cactus. The Thanksgiving holiday in the USA is on 23th November, so that makes far more sense! This species has pointed leaf margins while the former are rounded. We learn something new every day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.