Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Colors by Nature

Sometimes it's impossible to improve on what is right in front of the lens.  I have always liked this particular view of the male House Finches because it shows off their distinctive reddish patch.  And in this case the background was the same color palette as the bird - pinkish/red foliage provided by one of the invasive shrubs at the edge of our woods.  I didn't do anything to this image other than cropping it.

I forced myself to get up earlier than I wanted this morning so that I can get myself back on Eastern Standard Time as quickly as possible.  Then, I got on the phone and was able to score a same-day appointment with an appliance repair guy who diagnosed our oven as needing a new igniter.  It stopped heating a couple of days ago and Hubs tried to troubleshoot it while I was gone without any luck.  So, now we have to wait a couple of days for the part to come in and then we should be good to go.  In the meantime, no oven, but all five burners work.  

I took Jax over to a big open field nearby and let him have a snifari.  His nose was working overtime the entire time.  We found a dead black rat snake with a pile of scat next to it (coincidental) which was super-interesting for Jax.  Happily, he doesn't have any desire to eat or roll in dead things or poop, but both required extensive investigation.  And when we got home, he passed out in front of the fire.  A half-hour sniffy walk is more tiring to him than an hour-long brisk walk.

I need to run into town to pick up a few items at the grocery store this afternoon and after that I think I will curl up with a good book in front of the fire for an hour or two.

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.