KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

An Afternoon at the Zoo

It was my grandson's 6th birthday today! After a delightful massage, I headed over to my son's house - the kids are still out of school because of the Portland Public Schools strike (now they're thinking it will go through Thanksgiving...can you believe it?). Anyway, we had a nice birthday lunch, followed by chocolate cupcakes and then headed off to the zoo. 

Unfortunately my phone was almost out of power and the photos I took were terrible. My son took this photo of us (the two grandkids and yours truly) with my grandson making his usual funny faces. We had a grand time though...no one there, which I thought was odd given the school situation. We saw beautiful Snowy Owls and the giraffe in its very tall house...female lions and amazing birds and ducks and condors and eagles. Many of the birds are rescues who would not be able to survive in the wild. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.