There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

First Frozen Bubbles of the Season!

We had a hard freeze overnight, and when I woke up, it was 27 degrees F. My first thought was: bubbles! I can make frozen bubbles! So I got out my leftover bubble mix, left from springtime's last bubbles. I added a little Karo corn syrup and a bit of dish detergent, just a tiny bit of each, and stirred gently.

I put on my coat and some wild purple gloves that I've been wearing, and I headed into the backyard to make some bubbles! There is a row of about a half-dozen tree slices where I do my bubble blowing. Well, the surprise of the morning was that at these temperatures, my bubbles didn't really want to freeze completely!

I came back in half an hour later, at 29 degrees, informing my husband that the whole thing had been a complete bust! I couldn't get a single one of my bubbles to freeze. I sat and I waited, and I waited, and I waited. Not cold enough! Disappointment set in. . . . I had taken a bunch of pictures, but I fought the urge to delete them all!

When I looked at the photos, though, I did get lots of fun colors and swirls and (if I looked closely) the START of some ice crystals. And I had taken along two empty echinacea seed heads, which I thought would contribute some interesting texture - and they did!

I got a lot of nice colors mixed in from the early morning sun, the cheerful leaves which surrounded me (especially those yellows), and some reflections of the purple gloves I was wearing. So that's the first frozen bubbles episode of this season, in the record books.

When I looked at the pictures, and I saw all of those colors, the first thing I thought of was Candy Store! And here is the song that those words conjured: Johnny Cash, with Ballad of a Teenage Queen (a tale of a girl who worked in a candy store, found fame, and loved the boy next door; surprise, surprise, true love wins!).

Here is a link to my canonical source of frozen soap bubble tips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.