Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

South

Didn’t sleep as well last night, but got up early anyway to pack, do my hair, make up the spare bed for A who is staying for a couple of days during the time I’ll be away, and empty out the fridge. Was pleased I managed to get everything done before 9.
Had a somewhat high octane catch up zoom call with JS…I’ll need to do some thinking over the next few weeks.
Set off in absolutely filthy rain and wind and drove down to P’s new care home. Almost exactly 4 hours to get there, and only 15 mins off my usual route, so quite good. He was on good form, chatting to the activities lady when I arrived and then visits from the chef and the manager later whilst I was there. All very chatty and lovely. He had some niggles with small things about being there (tables not put back in the right place so he can’t reach things from his bed etc) but overall is very happy, loves the food and the constant cups of tea and feels he has everything around him that he needs. We chatted about renting out his house and I checked he was happy about each decision we need to make to get it onto the market. Also good to hear his cousin’s son who lives fairly locally came to visit him this morning.
Left him (this time with my keys….still no sign of the set I lost here before!) about 4pm then a straightforward drive to MK. Stopping to see him breaks the journey up quite well, but makes the journey a full day. Quite pleased to slump onto K’s sofa and dig in to lovely bowl of cauliflower, leek and sausage cheesy creamy bake with fennel seeds that she’s made. Delicious!
We watched Bake Off and then Masterchef and obviously ran a critical commentary on everything throughout both!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.