Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Woody and the Woodpeckers

Today is woodpecker day! I’ve posted two Acorn woodpeckers (lost them for the moment), an Arizona woodpecker (blip) both only seen in SE Arizona and Mexico, and a Gila woodpecker. The Gila is common in the valley but quite unusual up here. The Acorn has a red cap and black, white and buff colors.

The Arizona is the only woody in North America with a solid brown back. I saw a Ladder-backed woodpecker but didn't get the shot. That resembles a flicker.

A good day. Quiet. A couple of guys are staying in a casita tonight. They walked over to show me part of their beetle collection. I didn't have the heart to tell them I'm not fond of creepy crawlers.

I'm thinking of staying a day or two past Thursday. Just because...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.