An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Getting my ducks in a row...

It's been a day of checking lists.  D and I both had rather long to-do lists but we've both managed to make a dent.  D more than me as his had to be completed before he heads off early tomorrow morning on this annual Lake District Weekend. 

Tesco delivery arrived at 8.30am. All present and correct.  Phew :-))  I will have food for myself and my visitors while David is away.

Other than tackling my to-do list, I looked at the Christmas list again and a couple more ideas popped into my head. Going to wait till tomorrow to look at purchasing though.  Hopefully make the most of Black Friday deals.  

I was expecting a delivery from M&S today.  Should have been a medium sized package but instead an A4 envelope was delivered, which was empty!   I phoned Customer Services and got a very helpful lady, but it took a few attempts to get her to understand what had happened.  She couldn't seem to comprehend that I had received an empty envelope.  

At one point she said, with a touch of pride, "I see your order was due to be delivered on Saturday but we delivered it two days early" She sounded quite pleased about that till I reminded her that no, the order hadn't been delivered two days early, just an empty envelope!  Finally she confirmed that she had reinstated my order and I would receive it by 21st November.  I will have to make sure I'm not charged twice.

Made the decision to just send family Christmas cards again. First class stamps are £1.25 each and I would normally send about 60-70 cards, what a waste of money!  I would rather give the postage costs to charity.  Last year I gave to the Trussell Trust but this year I will make a donation to Shelter Scotland.  

Alan was swimming this afternoon and he was laughing so much I popped my head in hoping to get a photo but whenever I got close he splashed and soaked me, so I settled for a duck shot instead.  

He was still laughing when he got out of the pool.  I think he's looking forward to seeing his Auntie Agnes and Auntie Ele at the weekend.  I am too.  The wine is chilling :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.