curns' corner

By curns

Day Eleven

This is the eleventh day of working and the eighteenth day we have been on the island. I started the day with my usual walk down to the seafront here at Shanklin. It’s another bright, crisp and clear morning. It’s just such a lovely way to wake up. Most of the things along the seafront that serve the beach-loving tourists have closed up for the season. This is no exception, but I thought it made a lovely focal point for this morning’s picture. Today’s walk was almost an hour.

The working day was pretty much back to back with meetings that are reviewing the intended workflows for of a number of our projects.  Towards the end of the day, there are number of catch-ups with Alex and, later, with Kevin.  At the very end of the day, is an Infosec call,  but I have realised I’m not needed on these calls very often and so get Mark prompt me if I will be helpful. Today, I wasn’t needed.

Just before 6 o’clock, I was ready and packed to leave and took a walk to Shanklin station, where I was boarding the train heading for Ryde Pier Head, for an onward connection for the 7:15 pm train back towards Raynes Park.  I’m going into the office tomorrow, so heading back to London tonight means I don’t have to get up very early for the commute. It’s a bit quiet on these late evening trains for most of the journey. There is a very short interchange at Woking, but I figured out if I’m at the front of the train from Portsmouth I can make my way along the platform to the connection quite easily. Final change at Surbiton is straightforward because it is on the same platform that I come in on. 

Home by 9:20 pm, with a quick visit to the shops to buy something to eat. I didn’t really get an early night, but the journey was straightforward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.