Daily Wild

By emyjane

Hats off for the hornet

Best viewed *larger*

They might be large, scary & buzzing, but they're more intent on hunting the unsuspected insects for lunch then coming after you, they are indeed the tigers of the insect world, they work alone & strike alone & are almost always accurate. I followed this one with my eyes for a few minutes & then watched it strike, it caught a fly, which it hastily prepared in a ball & then took away to it's nest... I think it had a small snack on it first, before it took it away & before all this I got close for its picture :)

And after many *fails* I've managed to get a kind of good close up show of Little Larry's chick:

Behold Louis!

Rain most of the day, I nipped out at lightening speed when it stopped to *try* & get some photographs - which proved successful in the conditions! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.