Bom

By Bom

Playing in the Puddles

I had to go over to Morrisons and B&Q this morning, so planned to walk at Pensthorpe as well. When I arrived, it was raining lightly, but was forecast to stop soon. But as I waited in my car it started raining harder, so I decided to give it a miss. I did take this photos of one of the mallards that were behind my car in the car park, they were enjoying the big puddles! The leaves seem to have all been given the signal to drop all at once overnight, so I've been doing some leaf collecting out the front before they all spread down the road. 

Covid Update 
I've been listening to a bit of the Covid Inquiry which has been hearing from Sir Patrick Vallance (Chief Scientific Officer) and Sir Chris Whitty (Chief Medical Officer). The calibre of their evidence is much higher than that of the politicians and the civil servants and advisors. Sir Patrick was more opinionated and forceful, and Sir Chris was very precise and tried very hard not to give an opinion on anyone in the Govt. It appears that they struggled to get technical issues across to senior ministers and the PM, particularly around modelling (even the lawyer asking the questions seemed to misunderstand modelling). An example was the CSA & CMO being repeatedly asked by politicians how likely is the reasonable worst case scenario - it's obviously by definition the worst plausible outcome, albeit not the most likely (and this can only be defined better once you get real pandemic medical outcome data). Again I've been struck at the lack of a risk management infrastructure and would have expected there to also be a Chief Risk Officer post to ensure an effective framework is put in place for managing and reporting all material risks faced. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.