Kipsie

By Kipsie

Formica exsecta indicator

I think. Strands of wool can be found on Chudleigh Knighton heath, mainly blue, but in this particular area there are strands of random wool, a few on the branches, others on sticks presumably stuck into ant nests. Having spoken to one of the Devon Wild Life Trust members backalong it appears the ants are moving across the heath towards the A38 dual carriageway, so any fresh nests found away from it are a positive. http://https://www.woodants.org.uk/species/narrowheadedant
I left the payment for Ben with Mum then walked Indie. When I returned my first job was to find the tv remote. I did'nt take me long thank goodness. It was in one of the polythene bags of Anchor/family memorabilia photos etc.
I tweaked one of Mum's kitchen cupboards. European hinges!!!! WD40 on Mum's bedroom window eased the locking mechanism, that was a relief as Mum opens it everyday, the fact that it would'nt lock satisfactorarily, worrying.
I checked the tv was working ok before I left . Mum rearranged tthe collections of hedgehogs, & owls that Norah & Eliza, the great grandchildren were moving around on the fire surround. I brought the jigsaw puzzle out for Mum to have a go at then it was time to go.
Hubby had hospital apt in N.A so I dropped him off and nipped to Tesco's for a couple of bits for Mum.
Home, late lunch, then up to the plot. 3 rows of broad bean plants in the ground. I covered another area of soil with 8 bags of well rotted manure then covered with cardboard. Diane, an allotment neighbour offered me a head of celery from her patch ... Impressive! I always have celery in the fridge as I love it. I think I might make celery soup with some of the sticks. Hung all the mucky dung bags up to dry, did a bit of weeding, then it was getting dimpsy, time to head back. Carrots, beetroot, & celery. Tasty!  Still have a block of chard looking really good, plus Cavelo Nero, & purple sprouting broccoli. Leeks fattening up nicely.
Back home, prepped dinner then time for a cider, & The Chase.
My neice, Ashley called, she was at Mum's attempting to tune in new remote, but having a problem finding channels on the tv. Mum must have pressed the wrong button again. A prolonged W.I.P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.