MrsK277

By MrsK277

Empathy and understanding

I'd made plans these next few days as MrK is away and I didn't want to go into a downward spiral. I did some cleaning chores this morning before meeting Alison for lunch at Loubees and then onto an art exhibition at the museum. Just a council run exhibition inviting local people to submit their artwork for sale. Interesting. Very subjective obviously, but I think my paintings could stand up. It was a lovely walk up there and back noticing this bush fushia full of flower on the way back. Alison is a very lovely friend and so easy to talk to. I am very blessed.

After dinner with FK, we sat and went through the application form for work experience at an RAF base next summer.
I'm going to go with him and stay in a cottage close by, so I can take him and pick him up every day and give him a good meal each night. That's what will make this possible for him.
After I picked him up from cadets,we spent the next hour talking about how he feels as a young man, with his little quirks and foibles and how he notices neurodiversity in others and how he uses strategies to manage. It turns out, the guy that's been encouraging him at cadets has been put in charge of checking that everything is accessible for all the Cadets.
We talked about how he was as a young child and what brought us to pay for a dyslexia assessment. Why he never had an EHCP and his super-brain. He is so incredibly focused and how he has made us so proud. An enlightening conversation and the longest 'chat' we have ever had! Feeling blessed once more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.