SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Sprint

Today gave me the break from work that I needed. Since L walked Django I could get into Edinburgh in time to be gowned and join the graduation procession. After the ceremony I went to the School's reception in the Playfair Library and met a few MSc graduates (and parents) whom I've advised since they first applied. However, it took a while to find the two students I particularly wanted to see. One has needed a lot of support - that involved his parents - and it was good to meet them in person, as well as congratulate the student on completing his degree. Another student for whom I've been glad to do a lot is an asylum seeker, and were both very pleased to find each other, particularly when I learned that he's got a very good job with a company in Edinburgh that has sponsored the special work permit that he needs. 

Only then did I spot that it was 13:50, just ten minutes before a meeting I was due to have with a financial advisor in the West End! Still in my gown, I sped over to McEwan Hall to return it, and then ran most of the way to Melville Street, arriving at 14:09! 

After a very valuable 90-minute discussion, I emerged to this fine view of St Mary's Cathedral against the fading light.

Tired, and having had just half-a-dozen tiny canapés for lunch, I was glad to soon get a 47 home, and managed to wake up before we reached Penicuik.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.