carliewired

By carliewired

70 F /21 C

Somedays, there is a
lot going on in my small
backyard - I'm busy!

~carliewired

It was a very quiet start to the day. We were up just before 8 enjoying our coffee with a breakfast of scrambled eggs and tamales. 

I ventured into my backyard where I caught this mockingbird flitting around the orange tree and along the Mexican brick fence. I've been noticing a hummingbird in and around my orange tree. I'm thinking there could be a nest there. When this mockingbird landed in the orange tree, a hummingbird suddenly emerged from the tree to confront the mockingbird. The hummer poised itself in front of the mockingbird as if to dare the mockingbird to do something. The mockingbird deferred and just flew off. I will be watching my tree to see if anything is happening there. Some years ago, I did have a baby hummer hatch in that tree! 
The Baby in the Orange Tree.

Meanwhile, up on one of the palms, a woodpecker was scrounging for some food and making a lot of squawking noises. Woodpeckers seem to love the palms and my other trees. They will even drink out of the hummingbird feeder. I had no idea that a woodpecker has such a long tongue! 

It's a quiet day at home. My feet need something of a rest from activity and shoes. A nap this afternoon will come in handy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.