It's Common Riding Time!

It's that time of year again that everyone in Selkirk loves...Common Riding.

Whilst I admit, I am not the most eager for the Common Riding, I do enjoy seeing all the horses and seeing the whole town coming together. It's lovely to see the town share such a community spirit, it's as if no one cares about anything other than the Common Riding.

I find the Common Riding weird, maybe it's down to the fact that I moved here, rather than being born here. However, it's still fun and it's still a good time of year. I got up to see the horses crossing the river and then headed up to the Toll to see the horses coming back in. I met my friends in the Square where we watched the Standard Bearer casting the flag and had a bit of a catch up.

That's also what is great about the Common Riding, the majority of my friends come back so I get to see everyone again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.