madwill's world

By madwill

A New One For Me

It was very cold again overnight…so cold that the central heating boiler (in the garage) went into ‘frost protect’ mode and switched itself on at around 4:30, so of course it woke me up.

Walking in the woods (again) this morning, I came across a couple of patches of this rather fabulous growth. At first I thought “fungus”…but a bit of Googling when I got home has helped me identify it (I think).

It would appear to be Cauliflower Slime Mould and I don’t recall seeing it before. The white/cream colour suggests that it is fairly fresh. I have added a shot of another section, which was growing nearby, in extras today …there seems to be a couple of dead leaves embedded in that. I love the ‘crumbly’ textures that it has.

I made carrot and coriander soup this morning..I set the pressure cooker going before I went out so that is was ready when I got home. Lunch sorted…and four pots to go in the freezer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.