flavia13

By flavia13

LEVENS BRIDGE

A visit to Mum today.  Her sciatica is improving but she still sleeps sat up in a chair as she's too nervous to get into bed in case it goes again.  However she has been sleeping so that is good and the pain is easing a lot.

My sister and her boyfriend popped over after we'd had a lite bight with Mum so it was lovely to see them again.  She is amazing, my sister and her boyfriend is so good with Mum.  We are so lucky.
After that we came home but stopped of at Levens Kitchen, mostly so that I could get a blip for today. 


This bridge goes over the River Kent and is a Grade II listed building.  It is believed to have originally been built in the 17th century.  It was widened extensively repaired and rebuilt during the 18th and 19th centuries. It is built of Limestone rubble with roughly-cut voussoirs* and has 2 arches with cutwaters between and has parapets.  It is attached to walls and the gate piers at the south-west of the entrance to Levens Hall.


*A voussoir is a wedge-shaped element, typically a stone, which is used in building an arch or vault.


Gosh I feel soooo tired but if I fall asleep during the day or evening so be it, I have to tell myself that that does NOT matter.


Hope you are all well.  Do stay safe and take care and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.