ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Cold comfort

This is a "sort of" addition to #leithwalkshops. It's in front of the Courtyard by Marriott hotel towards the top of Leith Walk. Clearly someone must have been out this morning to put the condiments on the table....in anticipation of people eating outside? In today's weather? I think not.

This morning it was just cold and dreary. By lunchtime, it was raining and when I came home between 5pm and 6pm it was absolutely chucking it down, so in order to minimise walking in the rain (having walked in), I took three buses, culminating with a Number 10 dropping me right outside. Whereupon....blow me down with a feather....I walked into the building to discover a working lift. I swear I had heard our neighbour, whom I met on the stairs this morning, say that they weren't coming back until tomorrow. I assume it's been mended and hasn't just magically mended itself.

I had a Monday-ish sort of day. Neither good nor especially bad, but equally not so busy, so I got a few bits and pieces finished off and sorted out, and will manage the same tomorrow morning before I have a sleuth of meetings. But at least I will be able to take the bike to work. Huzzah.

I commented to my colleague this afternoon that I felt we had passed "peak semester". It's the last week of teaching and people slowly start thinking about other things....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.