ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Life's a brick

I started the day by poking the camera out of the bedroom window to photograph a pile of bricks and by doing a peloton workout.

As I cycled along Balfour Street on my way to work, I turned my head to the left for some reason and thought to myself, "oh, they are dismantling the crane at Stead's Place already". Err, no. The crane had collapsed, with Leith Walk basically closed at the bottom end, shops unable to open, and manifold bus diversions. Quite a mess, and two people injured. However, it could have been worse if the crane had fallen on existing buildings instead of the new ones which are still under construction. Presumably a mobile crane will need to be brought in to clear up the mess, and quite a few repairs will have to be done. Funnily enough, as I was leaving the flat this morning, I had been thinking about the importance of making sure all our insurance was up to date by the time we have the anticipated works done on our building. For the record, this is likely to start late February according to the latest estimates. Not. Holding. Breath.

I managed to get quite a few things finished off in the morning, before holding a few meetings in the afternoon, one of which was quite revelatory about "the state of things". Or maybe not the meeting itself, but the "after chat".

After cycling home in freezing temperatures with inadequate coverings on my hands (cycling gloves, not proper gloves), Mr A and I walked down to Leith to have supper with meles and DaveH in the renovated Vaults. The display of the whiskies is gorgeous, but I believe meles will be blipping it, so I will leave that to her and instead just focus on "progress" in the building site (tomorrow will be the chopped off crane!).

We brought a couple of delicious bottles home, which will migrate up to Tain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.