curns' corner

By curns

Christmas mugs

Mum and Dad wanted to head to their club for breakfast this morning which would’ve been nice, but I am on this restricted diet for the blood glucose monitoring test that I am doing. Instead, I decided to cook them bacon and eggs while I grilled the four rashes bacon that I am allowed to eat for the first few hours of the day. It was relatively easy and we had a lovely chat over breakfast. We spent the morning watching a bit of TV including Beverly Knight on Saturday Kitchen and Elton John on Football Focus. When three hours had passed since I’d had my bacon, we headed into town to have lunch at their club. 

We had a lovely lunch. I had a ‘lasagna special’ because I was really quite hungry after only four rashes of bacon all morning.  Afterwards, we headed into Shrewsbury as Dad wanted a Christmas hat he could wear while singing with the choir. We went round a number of shops looking for hats and eventually found something suitable in Home Bargains. During our search, I ended up with some Christmas cutlery holders.  Not really much idea what I will do with them. I very nearly bought these two Christmas mugs as part of my collection, but decided against it to the last minute.

I decided to head back home this evening. We stopped for a cup of coffee by the station and I went for the 5:30pm train back to London. I changed at Birmingham New Street and was one of three people in the first class carriage. There’s no service in first class on a Saturday evening; you are expected to go to the shop but with all my bags and belongings I didn’t really want to leave them unattended. Given it was a short journey I didn’t feel the need for any more food, although a cup of tea would’ve been nice.  I listened to a couple of products celebrating sixty years of Doctor Who. They were really good. The new series starts this evening but I think it will be tomorrow before I look at it.

We were into Euston just after 8pm, and I was back at home just before 9pm . M, R & M were already in the house when I got back and PY was entertaining them. I made it back in time for the pasta that had been cooked for dinner.  We had a lovely evening but it stretched into the early hours and after they have left. PY and I sat up drinking sherry as we set about some of the washing up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.