Winter sunrise

Even though I probably had more lager than I wanted last night, I surprised myself by getting up and out for my morning walk.  This journal is probably littered with winter sunrises but I do think they are lovely. The traffic, less so. 

When I got back I realised we did not quite have enough milk for my breakfast and so went to the corner shop.  I tried to see if next door was in as we have been holding a parcel for him for a day or so. There was no answer so I went and bought milk and succumbed to buying a white loaf. So my healthy porridge was accompanied by some unhealthy toast and lemon curd.   It might not have been so bad if my lunch wasn’t a burger that needs using up before we head out this evening. 

While I was working this morning I listened to an episode of Jake Humphrey’s High Performance podcast with Tyson Fury as the guest. It’s the first time I have listened and it was a really interesting discussion about mental health and sport.  And, I found it did not distract me from working as much as I had assumed it would. 

I did not have any meetings before my 1:1 with my boss at 2pm. I wasn’t certain it would happen because he was coming back from the trip to Sydney but he’d arrived back this morning so we got to chat. I like these weekly catch-ups because it reassures me that we are aligned even when I am at odds with some of the others. 

I stopped work around 5pm and started to pack for the weekend on Hayling Island. We are going to celebrate Jo’s birthday and C&D will also be there. They all went this afternoon but we could only head down after work. After I had packed some things, PY asked me to grab some food from the co-op to eat on the journey in case we arrive too late for dinner. As I had one shoe on my food the doorbell went. It was a relief that the parcel was picked up before we were away: I always feel bad having neighbours parcels when we are away in case they are important or urgent. It turned out that this was a box of coat hangers. 

We left just after six. Yet again there is minor disruption on the trains and the train we had planned to take was not running. The alternative, which would have given us a short but doable interchange to the bus at Havant - was also delayed. The journey made us change at Surbiton and Woking where we joined the Havant train.  Somehow, somewhere, the train made up the time and we arrived on time and made our connecting bus. 

On the way I listed to another episode of High Performance. This time the guest was British gymnast Max Whitlock who, I learned, is the most successful British gymnast ever and the most successful pommel horse worker in gymnastics history. 

We made it to the holiday apartment that we are staying in. It has, apparently, a view of the sea but by 9pm when we appeared it was too dark to see. There was a Christmas tree in the balcony window which was probably a bit too early. The England v USA World Cup group match was on TV when we arrived and seemed to be just as poor as we had been lead to believe following along with the family WhatsApp.  

And there was Chinese takeaway for us so we shouldn’t have had the train food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.