Lights

I was quite pleased that I was up and off for an early morning walk today.  I hope to get back in the habit but I am pretty certain I’ve said that a few times over the last months. It’s funny how I believe I can get back in the habit as the weather is getting colder.  It does not seem like the best time to try it.

It was a reasonably slow day. I did figure out how to make Universal Control work between my work and personal laptops which I think could be very handy going forward. It allows me to properly segregate my technologies. And I can write this kind of diary on my personal machine and not on a work machine. Who knows who is spying on who these days. 

C has decided to try to resurrect the idea of monthly drinks for a group of former colleagues and friends. Today was the first of the Thirsty Thursday revivals. I left home just after six but suffered some very slow moving trains which meant that I did not get to The White Horse on Newburgh Street until almost 7pm. Fortunately, C met another  former colleague so had some company.  The White Horse was packed which, for some reason, I found surprising. We spent the evening outside but it was still very pushy at times. Generally it was OK until later in the evening when the crowd had thinned out but the service deteriorated for some reason. 

Sadly, only the three of us turned up. It’s probably not surprising on a cold Thursday night in November.  Which sane person should leave the comfort of their home if they were working from there? We had a couple of amusing encounters with other customers but it was just me and C for most of the evening. And we had a lovely time. 

Just about 11pm as we were leaving, C said she wanted to see the 3D ads at Piccadilly Circus. I hadn’t heard of them so we went. In spite of standing for 10 minutes watching the images rotate the ads never came up. I assume it’s too late in the day. As I was getting cold we said our goodbyes at the tube station and I caught a train home just before midnight but only after eating a cheese and onion pasty from one of the concessions at the station. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.