curns' corner

By curns

Sofa

After my late night last night, I did get out for a walk this morning, but I had to take it slow because the instructions for my blood glucose testing say I should not have any exercise immediately before I do one of the tests. Today, I am booked on a series of tests that are looking at my responses to rice and bacon in various combinations and sequences. That meant that today’s breakfast was purely rice. It’s a very odd thing to eat for breakfast.

I’d asked a colleague  to run a session explaining some of the work another team had been doing, but just before I hopped on that call, I spoke to Dad about the car accident that he had yesterday. He is unharmed, but I decided that I should go and see him. So after my call, I headed out to catch a train from Euston to Shrewsbury.  I only booked the ticket when I arrived at the station and I found a cheap deal on a first class ticket. So, my journey was quite pleasant as far as Birmingham International and it came with free drinks and food. Because I was still working, I kept away from the alcohol.

I was able to work using my phone for most of the journey. On the leg from Birmingham International to Shrewsbury, I had to join a conference call which I did in audio only, but it was a little bit difficult to take part because of it. Unfortunately, the time coincided with the moment I was on the busiest train which also meant it was the noisiest. I think we got through it. At about 4:20 pm I arrived in Shrewsbury.

Traffic was horrendous in Shrewsbury at that point, and it took us 40 minutes or so to get back home. But we made it and had a nice evening mainly sat on the sofa watching TV and chatting. I tried not to fall asleep at one point as the room is so warm and cozy. Mum made a lovely fish dinner, but we all called it an early night just after 10pm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.