curns' corner

By curns

Another tree

After a couple of weeks of working solely from home, today was a trip to the office. I wanted to get in a little earlier because the canteen does porridge for breakfast and I wanted to compare the effect on my blood glucose between the traditionally prepared version in the office and the microwave version I use at home. I can see the microwave is much worse for me. Even heading out about 20 minutes earlier than usual, I still had to push my way onto a train from Raynes Park.

I started the day with a couple of video conference meetings, including one of the usual stand-ups that I attend . This is the worst bit about being in the office, having to find a space to do video calls that you can do much more easily from home. The best bit of being in the office is getting to spend some time with my team. Today, we ate lunch together which I thought was a lovely bonding exercise. We did stick to the canteen and I had a baked potato which I could also use my monitor to look at the behaviour of on my blood glucose. My body reacts very quickly to potatoes. 

I think a few of the team were going out for drinks after work, but I had plans and had to make my way to the Southbank after leaving the office. I went via Waterloo where I wanted to get a quick snack to eat before drinking and also tried to pick up some white rice for the next series of blood sugar test so I have to do. I couldn’t get the rice so I asked PY to get some for me but did find some snacks.  Waterloo is looking very festive at this moment and they’re using the height of the newer section to house a large tree. I thought this looked very impressive.

It was a pleasant evening at the Mulberry Bush having a few drinks with Jules and James . We stood outside for quite awhile which is a bit surprising given that the temperature is starting to fall, but it was very pleasant and I got home quite late. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.