curns' corner

By curns

All lit up

It seems all I’m writing about at this moment are the food tests I’m doing as part of the blood glucose monitoring. Today’s tests involved a bowl of rice for breakfast and then a brisk 30 minute walk. It got better when the second test of the day involved eating quite a large amount of tortilla chips. Unfortunately the amount of time between these tests that you have to fast for meant I skipped a substantial lunch. But the data was quite interesting to watch.

PY’s trains were cancelled this morning, so he ended up working at home for the first hour, and when everything was back running, heading into the office. I think going to the office might have been a smart move because it was a very cold all day and I resorted to putting the heating on and getting the little fan heater out to raise the temperature of my office.  I’ve had to adjust the timings so that we have more heat during the day. I will be seeing that change the gas bill next month, but I don’t see any point in shivering through the working day. 

After work, I went out to make sure I had bacon for the morning and picked up a few other things that we needed from the supermarket . On the way, I passed the tree that I photographed last week in the middle of Raynes Park; this time, it was all lit up for Christmas. I think they did switch on the lights last Friday but it doesn’t seem to have been any kind of big event. 

Dinner was salmon and couscous for me, and I added some extra vegetables for PY. I’ll have a very similar dinner tomorrow, replacing the couscous with lentils and will be checking the difference in my blood glucose responses. 

We spent most of the evening on the sofa, watching TV. We watched a programme about how the industrial revolution had been represented across Britain in art, Art That Made Us. Probably not the kind of thing we would normally have watched but very interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.