2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

Everything became good to me

I'm lucky enough to own a beautiful Folio Society [2021] copy of Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain - it contains a revised introduction by Robert Macfarlane and several paintings by landscape artist Rose Strang ...

... if you haven't read The Living Mountain, I can't recommend it highly enough - it really is a masterpiece of writing.

The snap here is one of the Rose Strang paintings, entitled "Everything became good to me ", and it relates to a passage from Chapter 12 of the book:


Everything became good to me

"But as I grew older, and less self-sufficient, I began to discover the mountain in itself. Everything became good to me, its contours, its colours, its waters and rock, flowers and birds.

This process has taken many years, and is not yet complete. Knowing another is endless. And I have discovered that man’s experience of them enlarges rock, flower and bird.

The thing to be known grows with the knowing."

---

Nan Shepherd & Rose Strang

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.