Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red-head

One of my local birder friends recently alerted me to a place where Red-headed Woodpeckers have set up territory so my intrepid little group set out this morning to find them.  The location is only about 20 minutes from our house, but not easy to find - luckily one of the group had been there before.  We hiked down to a wet area full of dead trees (preferred RH woodpecker habitat) and we hadn't been there a minute before catching a glimpse of one.  We eventually saw both adults and even got some (heavily cropped) pics.  They are rare in this part of the state so it's quite a treat to find this pair.  Several people have also seen a juvenile, so surmise that this pair nested last summer in this location,  I'll definitely be going back - maybe next time when it's not quite so cold!

It is currently 34 F with snow flurries and heading down to 23 F overnight.  We are happily burning through the remains of last year's firewood.  

I have an appointment to get my covid jab this afternoon.  I usually have a rough day-after so am planning to do nothing tomorrow.  If it turns out that I don't have a reaction, then I will have a free day to play.  I'm prepared either way.

I'm doing some research into senior living communities now, in the hope that my parents may decide to move out here.  I am not allowing myself to hope too much, but ... it sure would be nice!

Dark with peppermint today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.