Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Auntie Sadie blanket

When I was little, I was fascinated by my great-great Auntie Sadie. This was primarily because she was so old.  When my Junior 1 teacher asked the class to write a page about someone remarkable, I chose Auntie Sadie simply because she was 82. (Meanwhile everyone else chose a celebrity, such as an England footballer). Auntie Sadie died a decade later in 1981, when I was in the Upper Sixth. My sisters and I were sorely disappointed that she didn't make it to 100.

We saw a lot of Auntie Sadie because she only lived a very short distance from my paternal grandmother (her niece). Just about every visit to Granny H would include one to Auntie Sadie too. Whenever we arrived at her house, we would usually find her in her chair. She'd be crocheting blankets like this one, while either smoking or munching on Jesmona black bullets. We three sisters are all glad to have a little bit of Auntie Sadie still in our lives in the form of these blankets.

I blipped the blanket today because I have hardly ventured outside. I mainly divided my time between (a) writing letters and (b) reviewing Marina's latest PhD chapter. This should be my last day of inaction. I am almost completely better now and plan to return to my usual routine, including exercise, tomorrow. Mr hazelh and I are even going to try and sleep in the same bed tonight after a week apart.

The good news of the day is an acceptance for a journal paper that I co-authored earlier in the year with Marina, Peter, and Pete.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.