Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WIDE WEDNESDAY - A VISIT TO THE LOCAL LIBRARY

I can tell how much I have been resting by the number of books I have read in the last three weeks.  For me, it was at least 9, mainly because I am a “skimmer” when it comes to reading, and Mr. HCB read 3 - which is pretty good for him, considering he doesn’t rest as much as I do because as you know, he is often out in the garden working.

We decided to take our books back to Badbury Park Library, which I have mentioned before as it is quite near to us and easy to get to.  There are no non-fiction books, but plenty of novels and being a new library, all the books are new, which is great.

We always get a warm welcome from Siân, the librarian, when we visit and today was no exception.  Several of the books I had read were very good, so Siân immediately put them on her display as “Reader Recommended”, which she said saved her the job of having to choose any for the display!

As I was choosing my books, Siân asked if I had seen their Gingerbread House, which she had decided to use as their Christmas theme this year.  I hadn’t so she took me over to the Children’s section to show me. You can see in the top photograph that it is very impressive and she has put a lot of effort into this - showing me that the children can even crawl inside and lounge on cushions to read their books.  She said lots of children used it last week.  I even saw some pareidolia and mentioned this to her - she didn’t know the word, so having taken my photograph, it was win/win for both of us. 

Just before she stamped our books, we heard Siân encouraging a little lad to write his letter to Santa, which he did with his Mum’s help.  Again, Siân has obviously put a lot of thought into this, with a notice, paper, pens and pencils and a letterbox so a Gold Star to her.  There is a wonderful Children’s section in this particular library, which is so pleasing - the younger we can encourage children to enjoy books, the better, even if they can’t read themselves.  

It was a bit quieter than usual - tomorrow there will probably be many more children there as it is Story Time - so we were able to take our time today and came home with 16 books - a full complement - but I have told Mr. HCB he needs to take his own card, as 5 of the books are his - so of course, the remaining 11 are mine!  Now to go through them and see which one I will start this afternoon.  

P.S.  Typical of me - I have just looked at the theme for this week and it is “Black and White” - ah well, you can’t win ‘em all and I did manage to get the theme right last week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.