Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Roots

Last night Tommy and I watched the Great British Bake Off final - I did not think the final show stoppers were that good, they all looked a bit amateurish. The winner has been a bit controversial as there was a clear winner from the start and yet the judges chose someone else. The person they chose was also very good but we did not feel he was as good as the person who should have won. 

Today I had to wait for the boiler 'engineer' to come fix our boiler as it was giving an error code - when I phoned to book the repair, using the manufacturer of the boiler as we always do, I was told that from the last visit the boiler was deemed 'beyond economic recovery' ...in other words it needs to be replaced and is no longer repairable. I was a bit thrown by this as the boiler is only 7 years old and we were not told that on the last service visit. We have more than one boiler so I thought maybe they had the boilers confused? Anyway when the engineer arrived this morning (within the agreed time) he said that he did not know why they said that, he easily fixed the problem with the boiler and it very definitely does not need replacing. He also sorted another problem on the water tank as I felt that our water had not been hot enough and he confirmed there was a problem with that so he fixed that too.

While that was repairable our vacuum cleaner stopped working and usually it is a connection in the plug that has come loose, so Gavin checked it and tried all sorts of things, but no, it was 'beyond economic repair'. So today I ordered a new one, which thankfully was still on a Black Friday/pre Christmas sale at Currys (£90 cheaper than at John Lewis!) and the branch near Tommy's gym had one in stock so he collected it for me after gym which was very helpful.

I missed my golf this morning, but once the boiler engineer left I took Xena for a long walk to the woods. It was such a lovely sunny day, it was a very enjoyable walk.

Tonight I have a zoom talk on winter landscape photography organised by the Landscape group of the Royal Photographic Society, it should be very interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.