This is the day

By wrencottage

Frosty Rose

The first frost of the winter for us last night. I took this after I’d been out into the garden to fill the bird feeders and melt the ice in the bird baths. 

The rest of the day has been spent preparing for our weekend visitors, and also bringing down from the loft and putting up the Advent calendar that I made when I was expecting our third child (now known as The Traveller, or Uncle Bean). I made a calico cover for it to protect it, and stitched my name and the year I made it on the front. As he looked at it, Smithers noticed that this will be the 40th Christmas we’ve had it on the wall! 

I’ve also taken our wonderful nativity scene figures out of their tissue paper wrapping and assembled them on our wide front hall window. When I joined Blipfoto on 5th January 2022 my first photo was of that nativity scene, which I was about to dismantle on Twelfth Night and put away for another year. I’m sure I will be blipping it again this month as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.