Ingleman

By Ingleman

Run To The Hills

Best viewd large

My 'go to places', my escape, are the hills.

I have tried to analyse my attitude to this love of the high ground, the often less accessible places.

I don't really know, but I think it is a combination of scale, perspective, drama in the wild and rugged landscape that challenges the mind, the body. The heart and the lungs. The whole organism of me.

My wife and I have had a lifetime climbing mountains, scrambling ridges, gullies. Up hill and down dale.

She is less able to do these silly things now. Arthiritis. But I still love the wild landscapes that we have access to. And of course, the ever changing light.

Shropshire is not The Lake District. Or Scotland, The Isles. Or North Wales. Or Northern Majorca, Kefalonia, or places we haven't been such as The Alps, The Dolomites, Patagonia, Himalaya.....

But Shropshire is...Shropshire.  

Unique, unspoilt, beguiling and utterly lovely in it's own way.

Our happy place.

And by George it was cold today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.