ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Heriot's at night

I spent the morning in a meeting with a delegation from an alliance of European universities. Despite a certain scepticism as to whether it was a useful use of my time, in fact I found it pretty interesting, although I'd had enough by lunchtime and so didn't attend the afternoon session.

I used the afternoon to catch up on a few things and to hold a couple of meetings (DC is thinking about my request), before I went along to the big annual lecture of the institute I used to direct. It was well attended, and it was nice to see CW, who is on the institute board and is part of the famous book group. We had a nice chat afterwards.

The last part of the day was interesting. Dinner on the top floor of the Futures Institute, which is - as well known from Ridgeback13's posts - in the old hospital opposite Heriot's school. The view from the balcony, the door to which was unlocked, was excellent. You can't quite see the castle, but Heriot's is impressive at night.

Home in a taxi. Another rather late night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.