curns' corner

By curns

Pond Life: Albertopolis and the Lily

I was up early but still only just managed to get the 7:20am train because it was running 3 minutes late. I changed at Wimbledon where I made the error of deciding to skip the Edgware Road train because it was packed and take the next District Line service. I thought I could change at Earl’s Court. The decision probably cost me 30 minutes on my journey. At Earl’s Court there were no more trains showing to Edgware Road so I ended up on a train to Gloucester Road and a switchback to Notting Hill Gate and onto White City. A most frustrating journey characterised by a comment on the first train from somebody who said, “it’s just like the old days on here”. 

I don’t recall going through Gloucester Road for a while. Art on the Underground have commissioned a series of sculptures under the title  ‘Pond Life: Albertopolis and the Lily’ and they are quite impressive and very photogenic. Took my mind of the delay frustration for a period of time.

I started my day in the office with a porridge in the canteen before making my way downstairs to the area we use on Tuesdays. I managed to find a booth to join the standup and then we spent an interesting hour with the team who had been doing some of the domain modelling work.  I went to lunch with them a little later which was great. If the commute is the worst thing about going into the office then the best thing is that we get some nice in-person collaborative sessions.  

Some of the team were all heading out to Nando’s for an evening. I was invited but I at lunchtime I’d received a message from C, “Completely lost track this week. Are we meeting?”  It is our last-Thursday-of-the-month meet-up day and I think we’d both missed it.  I responded that I would rather not spend the evening stood outside the usual pub as the weather is too cold. Eventually, she booked a table at The Real Greek on Berwick Street.

I left the office when everybody else did but it meant I was early for dinner, so I wondered around Soho for a little while before taking our table.  I ordered a glass of Ellinas Red while waiting.  We both went for the Filoxenia Dinner Menu.  Dinner was lovely with great company.

And, for a change, we finished earlyish and I was home for 11pm. PY was watching Question Time so I went straight to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.