PandaPics

By pandammonium

Poinsettia

Abandoned

I waved Mr Pandammonium off as he went to pay a visit to his parents. The trains more or less behaved themselves all the way. I couldn’t go, which is fortunate considering it was awful misty from Peterborough onwards.

Cancelled

I was supposed to go to an event in Cambridge this evening, but I cancelled my ticket because I didn’t want to get stuck there if the trains or the roads played up.

I got to thinking about parkrun tomorrow; specifically how happy I’d be walking or driving there with all the frost and ice on the roads. Maybe it would be cancelled. I thought I’d best check.

A post by our local parkrun had been posted one minute before I looked: cancelled not only because of the icy conditions, but because of a lack of volunteers. I wasn’t one of those who didn’t volunteer.

After moaning that I’d have to find something else to do tomorrow morning, I said I’d do next week.

Blipper Widget

I’ve fixed a few things that annoy me about Blipper Widget. I’m not quite ready to upload it to the WordPress Subversion (SVN) repository yet. When the time comes, I will need to look up how to do it because I always forget the SVN commands.

Poinsettia

You might have noticed the poinsettia in the photo. The red parts are bracts – coloured leaves. The flowers are tiny and yellow, and in the middle of the bracts. I learnt this from the book when I used to read it back in the day.

I bought this poinsettia following the book’s advice: make sure the tiny yellow flowers are in bud when you buy it so the plant lasts longer.

The book removes all blame from the purchasers of poinsettias for not being able to keep them alive, never mind flowering, after Christmas. It says that this type of plant – a flowering pot plant as opposed to a flowering house plant – is only meant to last till the flowering is over. Chrysanthemums are another example.

To clarify: if you’ve ever had this type of plant die on you, it wasn’t your fault. The book says.

The book goes on to say that there is a way to get a poinsettia to flower again next Christmas. It’s a faff and a bother; challenge accepted – hence buying the poinsettia. I just have to get it past Christmas.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.