ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

December Snow

It’s been snowing for most of the day now, sometimes heavily, sometimes just a few flakes, but it’s been pretty consistent. I’m supposed to be going out to Ulverston tonight for a gig, but I’m really hoping it’s going to be cancelled.
I went to the gym this morning - for a very chilly workout - and the main roads were all pretty much clear, though I can’t help but think that they might be worse tonight. I think I’ll just have to play it by ear and see a) if gig is still on, b) can I even get the car off the drive and c) are the roads passable. Might have to try going out for a sighting lap before it gets dark to get a feel for the conditions.
Looking back, I notice that my first “snow” blip last year was on December 12th. So, ten days earlier this year. Not sure if this is due to climate change or not.

Update: Heavy snow has continued to fall, and several reports of long delays/blockages on the road to Ulverston. After discussions with the band (who are going to go for it) it has been agreed that it would be foolish for me to try and get through and not worth risking it, so they’ll try and get someone to dep for me. I’ve told them to take care - they might not have as far to travel, but it’s still not a given that the roads will be passable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.