ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Walking In A Winter Wonderland

Well, it didn’t stop snowing yesterday. So much so that a major incident was declared due to the number of blocked roads, abandoned vehicles, etc. Thankfully, I made the decision quite early on not to try and get to last nights gig. I might - emphasis on the might - just have made it through to Ulverston, but I definitely wouldn’t have made it back home.
So, we woke up this morning to a good six inches of snow on the ground and not a chance of taking the car anywhere. But, as we’d emptied the fridge and freezer to feed ourselves yesterday, I had no option but to wrap up warm, strap on my big boots and walk down into town to get supplies. There were some roads that looked passable in the town centre, but all others were very slushy or still blocked with snow.
Unsurprisingly, Panto rehearsal this afternoon has been cancelled, so I’ve turned the radio on (Sounds of the 70s) and will try and finish learning my lines, whilst listening to some good tunes.
I’m not going to bother trying to clear the snow off the drive as I have a feeling that the forecast rise in temperature overnight will do most of the work for me. Incidentally, the bush I blipped yesterday with its (comparatively) light dusting of snow is now totally flattened, weighed down by all the subsequent snowfalls. Hopefully it will bounce back when everything melts.
Of course, this being the Lake District, not everyone is bothered by the weather - one of those dog walkers was wearing shorts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.