ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Cold dip

Despite a fair bit of red wine, I slept like a log in our quiet dark bedroom on what is now a discernibly better mattress than the one in Edinburgh. We really must get the latter replaced. But I couldn't sleep late this morning as I had committed to a sunrise dip this morning. Something around minus 6 air temperature and about plus 5 in the water. It was actually less "shocking" than I expected and just glorious.

The beach is not back to where it was, in the sense that there are a lot of stones at the top. But basically, the sand is back further down, and it was sandy in the water. I surprised myself by going slightly out of my depth and swimming around a little bit. It seemed only reasonable given how far I'd travelled for this swim.

I've added an extra of the "steaming" sea as the sun got up higher in the sky, just before we left.

We spent the rest of the morning doing a few chores, including taking some stuff to the household recycling and rubbish disposal centre and putting my new Schwinn spin bike for up here together. It seems a solid piece of kit. I will have a go on it tomorrow.

In the afternoon, we popped over to see our neighbour for a drink and some nibbles. We admired her newly installed blue plaque. It may feature on blip as well at some point.

Now we are spending our evening in the time honoured Tain way. By relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.