ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Frigid Tain

Frosty seedbeds down on the Links.

Today didn't get off to a marvellous start. Our hot water pipes were frozen. There is obviously a piece of piping in the roof space (which is exceedingly well insulated) which is not properly lagged. We opened the roof space, ramped up the heating below the hatch, and waited. By the time we'd been to Shandwick, come back and I'd taken a walk down to the Links, Mr A was texting me to show me a picture of a dribble coming through the tap. That was quickly followed by a proper flow. It is now slightly warmer than it was earlier, and we've left the roof space open and will do when we leave tomorrow. That should be fine. But we will need to get someone round to have a look at it sooner rather than later as this is the second time this has happened once the temperature hits around minus 5 or 6 for a longer period of time. The difference in temperature between the roof space and the hallway was obvious as there was condensation on the hatch. This initially had me panicking that there was something more fundamental wrong, but once I realised it was just condensation it was all fine. Well, merely annoying.

The sea at Shandwick was just as cold as yesterday. Possibly even more so. But no one had a functioning thermometer so we had to guess. We were nine for a 10am Sunday dip which is remarkable given how cold it is. The rushing to get dressed afterwards is the most tiring bit, but since I've had the shorty wetsuit my core doesn't get anywhere near so cold, so most of it is about dealing with cold hands and cold feet and that doesn't worry me too much. I've got some new gloves that are good for driving which do the trick for my hands, and with my feet it's just a question of using them a bit. That warms them up.

After my walk, I settled down to a typical Tain winter afternoon. Relaxing with a book. Later on, I made dinner with some Bannermans fishcakes and we've settled down to a typical Tain winter evening. Relaxing with a book and some wine. What could be better? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.